City Council

SUI 90113 9533 - Comp2.jpg

The City Council consists of a Mayor and five Council Members. While each Council Member is designated by a place number, the City is not divided into districts. Therefore, each Council Member represents the citizenry at large.
Council Members are elected by plurality, meaning the candidate with the most votes in each place is elected to office. Members of the City Council are elected to two-year terms on alternative years. The Mayor and Council Members Places 3 and 5 are elected during odd numbered years. Council Members Places 1, 2, and 4 are elected during even numbered years.  Visit the Elections Page for more information on the next General Election.
The City Council meets at City Hall, 12951 Bandera Road, Helotes, Texas 78023, on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month.  Meeting agendas can be found under the "Agendas" tab above.  You may also watch City Council meetings live on Spectrum Cable Channel 21 or recorded on YouTube by clicking on the camera link below. 
The current Helotes City Council consists of:

Mayor Pic.jpg

Mayor Thomas A. Schoolcraft
Term May 2019 - May 2021



Council Member Place 1
Craig Sanders
Term November 2020 - May 2022



Council Member Place 2
Linda Salazar
Term November 2020 - May 2022




Council Member Place 3
Bert Buys
Term May 2019 - May 2021


Council Member Place 4
Cynthia Massey
Term November 2020 - May 2022 


Council Member Place 5
Paul Friedrichs
Term May 2019 - May 2021


Upcoming events